Electric Forest

Posted June 27, 2013 by in Michigan
electric forest







Bucket List

Total Score

4.5/ 5

The Deets

North America: ,
When: Last weekend of June
Where: Rothbury, Michigan
Genre(s): Electronic
Cost: 4 Day Pass = $189-$242+tax (Depending on how early/late tickets are purchased) | 2-Day Sat & Sun Tickets are $149.50+tax
Camping: Yes
Attendance: 25,000+


Epic festival grounds setting in the forrest of Rothbury, Michigan


The Bottom Line

Check out the Electric Forest Music Festival artist lineup, performance schedule, ticket information, and more! The Electric Forest Music Festival is held annually in Rothbury, Michigan during the last weekend of June/early July. The festival features mostly electronic acts, and is considered to be one of the best music festival productions in the Northern Mid-West territories of the United States.

by Riley Hilliard
Full Article

Electric Forest Music Festival

The Electric Forest music festival was first held during the Independence Day holiday weekend in 2008. The music festival, formally known as the Rothbury Festival because of its location in the woods outside Rothbury, Michigan, changed its name to ‘Electric Forest’ after a year break in 2011. The coproduction of Electric Forest has been handled by Insomniac and Madison House Presents, and attendance has consistently been in the 30,000+ range for the past few years.

2009-2010 Controversies

From 2009-2010 Electric Forest was mired in issues with the financially struggling Double JJ Ranch, the host venue of the music festival. While in bankruptcy court it appeared that the 2009 year might be cancelled, however the federal bankruptcy judge cleared the way for a lease of the festival property.

2010 proved to be too complicated with the financial issues of the Double JJ Ranch, as well as issues with aligning a decent artist roster, and so the year was placed on ‘hiatus’ with a promise that in 2011, the music festival would return. Insomniac and Madison House Presents released this statement:

“During the past three years, all of us involved with ROTHBURY have greatly appreciated the tremendous outpouring of support for the future of the festival. For 2010, we have had to make the tough decision to postpone our efforts. A contributing factor in our decision is that, due to various artists’ recording and touring schedules, we now believe that timing will not allow for us to assemble the cutting edge roster that everyone has come to expect from ROTHBURY. The result for this year is that we are not able to move forward with the integrity and high standards that we demand from ourselves and for the festival.

Despite the 2010 postponement, we intend to move toward continuing ROTHBURY in 2011. This event is something very special, and we are unwilling to potentially tarnish what ROTHBURY is, and can become, by working under conditions that will produce anything less than a magical experience.

ROTHBURY is more than a festival. It is a mission intended to discover strength in community, and what it means to be a large-scale sustainable event in these times. Our efforts are certainly not coming to an end.

It is important for us to thank the people of Michigan, Oceana County, The Village of Rothbury, Grant Township, and the Double JJ Resort. Also, we thank our team members, volunteers, creative contributors, media partners, and sponsors. We have made many friendships that will last a lifetime.

To all who attended the first two years of ROTHBURY we thank you for the soul you gave the event. Those times entered rarified air because of your energy.

We hope you have a fantastic July 4 this summer.”

As promised in 2011 the music festival returned with a new name: Electric Forest. Since then Electric Forest has grown in popularity as one of the largest music festivals in the northern United States.

Purchase Tickets
lineup poster large6 Electric Forest

Electric Forest 2013 Lineup

  • The String Cheese Incident (3 shows)
  • Pretty Lights
  • Passion Pit
  • Empire of the Sun
  • Knife Party
  • Above & Beyond
  • Dispatch
  • Lotus
  • Benny Benassi
  • Yeasayer
  • Beats Antique
  • GrizMatik with Special Guests
  • Madeon
  • Tommy Trash
  • Morgan Page
  • A-Trak
  • Grimes
  • EOTO
  • Railroad Earth
  • Headhunterz
  • Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue
  • Kill the Noise
  • Baauer
  • Emancipator
  • FEMI KUTI & The Positive Force
  • Noisia
  • 3LAU
  • Michal Menert
  • RL Grime
  • Just Blaze
  • SuckerPunch ft. Marc and Aron of the Disco Biscuits, Jamie Shields of the New Deal, and Mike Greenfield of Lotus
  • Danny Brown
  • Greensky Bluegrass
  • Digital Tape Machine ft. Joel Cummins & Kris Myers of Umphrey’s McGee
  • Future Rock
  • The Polish Ambassador
  • The Werks
  • Treasure Fingers
  • BoomBox
  • Clockwork
  • Ana Sia
  • Craze
  • Le Castle Vania
  • Orchard Lounge
  • Jeff Austin & Friends
  • Eskmo
  • Pigs on the Wing ft. Murphy of STS9
  • Eliot Lipp
  • Cyril Hahn
  • Reptar
  • Nick Catchdubs
  • A Tribe Called Red
  • No Regular Play
  • The Pimps of Joytime
  • Ryan Hemsworth
  • Lance Herbstrong
  • Doldrums
  • Nigel Hall
  • Nahko and Medicine for the People
  • Quixotic
  • Robert DeLong
  • Lynx
  • Delhi 2 Dublin
  • Up Until Now
  • Helicopter Showdown
  • Russ Liquid
  • Moon Hooch
  • Dopapod
  • Shreddie Mercury
  • LowRIDERz
  • Milkman
  • The Main Squeeze
  • Samo Sound Boy
  • The Floozies
  • Twiddle
  • Mutrix
  • Tumbleweed Wanderers
  • The Stepkids
  • Beard-o-Bees
  • Luke the Knife
  • Manic Focus
  • The Nth Power
  • Party Supplies
  • Rosin Coven
  • Cosby Sweater ft. Joel Cummins of Umphrey’s McGee
  • Christian Rich
  • Thriftworks
  • Vokab Kompany
  • Motion Potion
  • Bestfriends
  • Dustin Thomas
  • Munson Meeks
  • Jessijem n’ the Infamous Crotch Kickers Instrumental Forester Winner
  • Sam Klass Instrumental Forester Winner

Electric Forest 2012 Lineup

  • The String Cheese Incident (3 Shows)
  • Bassnectar
  • STS9 (2 Shows)
  • Thievery Corporation
  • Girl Talk
  • Santigold
  • Steve Aoki
  • Ghostland Observatory
  • Richie Hawtin
  • Wolfgang Gartner
  • Major Lazer
  • The Travelin’ McCourys feat. Keller Williams
  • Dada Life
  • Beats Antique
  • Datsik
  • 12th planet
  • borgore
  • Midnite
  • MiM0SA
  • EOTO
  • Das Racist
  • Reggie Watts
  • Rob Garza (Of Thievery Corporation)
  • Paper Diamond
  • Felix Cartal
  • Gary CLARK JR.
  • Papadosio
  • Balkan Beat Box
  • Big Freedia And The Divas
  • NiT GriT
  • The Infamous Stringdusters
  • Nickodemus
  • Chali 2na & the House of Vibe
  • Alvin Risk
  • The Soul Rebels
  • See-I
  • Glass Candy
  • Gramatik
  • Elephant Revival
  • Thunderball
  • Minnesota
  • Nobody beats the drum
  • Congo Sanchez
  • Fruit Bats
  • The M Machine
  • The Coop
  • Chromatics
  • Pictureplane
  • AutoErotique
  • Nathaniel Rateliff
  • Adventure Club
  • GRiZ
  • Afrolicious
  • Virtual Boy
  • The Funk Ark
  • Franki Chan
  • Brothers Past
  • Nadis Warriors
  • Cherub
  • Frank Mitchell Jr.
  • The Knocks
  • Paul Basic
  • Vau de Vire Society
  • Morning Teleportation
  • DrFameus
  • R/D
  • Robert Rich
  • Quixotic
  • Chuck Flask & Keith Kemp
  • Ataxia
  • The Crane Wives
  • Secrets
  • WALA
  • Human Agency

About the Author

Riley Hilliard


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

Latest Reviews and Articles
  • Flower Crown Flower Gypsies
    electric forest
    Spring Awakening Music Festival
  • Official Coachella 2013 Artist Lineup
    Official Coachella 2013 Artist Lineup
  • coachella-sunset
    treasure island
    Doheny Days
    Tramps Like us